Formed in 2015, SUNLESS draws influence from pioneers of extreme dissonant metal such as Gorguts, Ulcerate, and Deathspell Omega, reinterpreting the sound through an abstract lens that is all their own. Comprised of bassist Mitch Schooler (ex-Nerves, Modulus), drummer Ben Iburg (Not From Here, The Eye Unclouded), and guitarist/vocalist Lucas Scott (Australis, Pestifere), the band boasts a prominent rhythm section, a scattered assortment of time signatures, interwoven and complex arrangements, and bellowing death growls, akin to the output of Baring Teeth, Pyrrhon, and Artificial Brain.

SUNLESS spent 2016 performing across the Midwestern US in support of their demo with like-minded bands such as Plebeian Grandstand, Yautja, and Pyrrhon, while writing for their debut album, Urraca. Tracked by Adam Tucker at Signaturetone Recording in their hometown of Minneapolis (The Crinn, Ambassador Gun, Maeth), and mixed/mastered by Colin Marston at Menegroth, The Thousand Caves in Queens, New York, Urraca delivers a relentlessly engaging onslaught of complex and dissonant death metal, with nine tracks encompassing a dense forty-four minutes. The artwork was handled by friend, lyricist, and former bandmate Andrew Notsch (ex-Youwretch), appropriately presenting the album in a psychedelic abstract visual manner.