Witch Watch was formed by Derek Van Gieson (Paraguay City Rollers, Roman Invasion Suite, The Bridge Over River Qua, Murder Shoes) and Anna Neighbors (Flowerstalks) following the breakup of Murder Shoes. Austin Cecil and Rory Donovan (both of Monica LaPlante's Band) joined the lineup shortly after and the quartet released their debut album in April of 2017. In May of 2017, second guitarist Robert Kramer was added to the lineup. While the sound of Witch Watch has trace elements of the Murder Shoes sound, it encompasses more of an eclectic blend of shoegaze, goth, punk, garage, and folk.