AFI is comprised of Davey Havok, Hunter Burgan, Jade Puget and Adam Carson, and was originally formed as a hardcore punk band in 1991 in Ukiah, CA. The band steadily built their hardcore fan base through the early years, until they crossed over into mainstream popularity with their breakthrough album, Sing the Sorrow. In 2003, the album went platinum, and received heavy airplay across radio stations and MTV. Since the release of Sing the Sorrow, AFI has released four additional albums including their most recent album, AFI (The Blood Album).