Friday, September 5, 2014 at 7:30pm
Presented by: 

Info Tabs


They say that there is no going back. They say that you can never go home again. But The Jayhawks are sure the hell going to try. Most of the 1997 touring lineup - Karen Grotberg, Tim O’Reagan, Marc Perlman, Gary Louris, and Kraig Johnson - are thrilled to be diving back into the darkness of Sound Of Lies, the joyous widescreen pop of Smile, and the simple elegance of Rainy Day Music. The Jayhawks will be playing shows throughout 2014 in the US, Canada and Europe in support of the upcoming expanded reissues of these 3 timeless albums. 2014 setlists will touch on all eras of the band, but the primary focus will be on the amazing music The Jayhawks made from 1997-2003 - material that, for the most part, has not been played live by the band in over a decade.

The reissues of Sound of Lies, Smile and Rainy Day Music are slated for Summer 2014 release and will be released by American Recordings/Universal. All three albums have been freshly remastered using original analog sources whenever possible and will feature new liner notes and bonus tracks. There will also be deluxe 2LP vinyl releases for all 3 albums - Sound of Lies and Rainy Day Music were originally released in very limited quantities on vinyl and Smile has never been released on vinyl in the US. This round of reissues is the next phase in a massive career-spanning project that began in 2009 with the Music From The North Country anthology and the subsequent reissue of The Jayhawk's long out of print first album, followed by deluxe reissues in 2011 of the classic Hollywood Town Hall and Tomorrow the Green Grass albums. Many Jayhawks fans have long waited to relive the glories of the Sound of Lies / Smile / Rainy Day Music era – now, in 2014, they will have their chance.